Our team is working together to build an Indiana where the humanities belong to everyone, where action is rooted in insight and where community grows from conversation. Our board and staff is committed to fulfilling our mission and exhibiting our values of inclusivity, curiosity, community, creativity and partnership.

Meet Our Staff

Keira Amstutz

Keira Amstutz

President and CEO

The former public servant who bridges communities, cultures & creatives to bring the public humanities to life.

A lawyer with experience in public policy and fund development, Keira is passionate about developing creative humanities programming that encourages Hoosiers to think, read, talk and connect.

Lyndsey Blair

Lyndsey Blair

Program Associate

An archivist and public historian who preserves and shares stories about the Hoosier state.

Lyndsey develops, supports and implements Indiana Humanities’ broad array of public programs.

Bronwen Carlisle

Bronwen Carlisle

Programs and Special Projects Manager

An enthusiastic learner who enjoys reading, writing, conversing and connecting.

Bronwen manages a variety of our literary programs, including Novel Conversations and the Indiana Authors Awards.

Hailey DeWolf

Hailey DeWolf

Events Associate

A native Hoosier who fosters deep connections to place. 

An event planner by nature, Hailey is passionate about creating experiences and cultivating opportunities for Hoosiers to connect with each other and their surroundings in meaningful ways.

Marisol Gouveia

Marisol Gouveia

Director of Engagement

A community collaborator, language lover, art admirer and plant proselytizer committed to serving the adopted state she calls home.

Marisol works with her team to connect all Hoosiers to the humanities as we seek to make sense of ourselves, our world and our place in it.

George Hanlin

George Hanlin

Director of Grants

A civic booster who loves to help others tell the story of our state.

George helps to connect organizations across Indiana with funding for public humanities programs such as exhibitions, presentations, workshops and reading/discussion programs.

Beth Kloote

Beth Kloote

Office Manager and Development Associate

A fundraiser by profession and a self-proclaimed philanthropy nerd.

Beth serves as office manager, assisting the team with vendor relationships, scheduling meetings and grants management.

Sam Opsahl

Sam Opsahl

Program Associate

A 19th-state-superfan who believes in the power of good stories and impactful conversations.

Sam advances various programming initiatives, working to connect Hoosiers from diverse backgrounds in exciting new ways.

Marlena Ratchford

Marlena Ratchford

Finance, Grants and Program Associate

A trivia buff and pop culture fanatic who discovered the unexpected joy of crunching numbers.

Marlena ensures that finances are tracked and the bills get paid as well as provides support for the grantmaking process and Novel Conversations program.

Jackie Rodriguez

Jackie Rodriguez

Communications Manager

A social media strategist who creates digital spaces that encourage storytelling, inclusivity and community building.

Jackie works to cultivate relationships and drive engagement across social media channels and plays a key role in developing partnerships on and offline.

Tom Streit

Tom Streit

Creative Technologist

A creative macgyver with a passion for traditional and digital storytelling.

Tom oversees the organization’s presence online and creates graphics, shoots photography and directs the video strategy.

Megan Telligman

Megan Telligman

Director of Programs

An avid reader who believes in the power of texts to strengthen community.

Megan manages a broad array of programming, from speakers bureaus to statewide reads to museum exhibits.

About the Board

Indiana Humanities is a nonpartisan, independent nonprofit governed by a volunteer board of Indiana educators and business and community leaders. Six of the members are nominated by the board of directors and appointed by the governor of Indiana, while the others are selected from nominations solicited annually from the public.

Meet the Board

Chris Gahl, senior vice president of marketing and communications, Visit Indy (Indianapolis)

Tiffany Tolbert, Associate Director, African American Cultural Heritage Action Fund, National Trust for Historic Preservation (Hobart)

Cheryl Taylor, retired President/CEO, Foellinger Foundation (Fort Wayne)

Mark Maassel, retired president, Indiana Energy Association (Valparaiso)

Doran Moreland, senior consultant, Resultant (Indianapolis)

Keira Amstutz, president and CEO, Indiana Humanities (Indianapolis)

Marquisha Bridgeman, Community Relations Manager, Star Financial Bank (Indianapolis)

Edward P. Dallis-Comentale, Associate Vice Provost for Arts and Humanities and Professor of English, Indiana University (Bloomington)

Brooke Dunn, Chief Financial Officer, Health & Hospital Corporation of Marion County (Indianapolis)

Rayvon Fouché, Professor of American Studies, Purdue University (Carmel)

Edward Frantz, Chair of the Department of History and Political Science and Professor of History, University of Indianapolis (Indianapolis)

Katie Glick, Practice Group Director, Ice Miller LLP (Columbus)

Rep. Ryan Hatfield, State Representative for House District 77 and Attorney, Hatfield Law (Evansville)

Terri Jett, Professor of Political Science, Faculty Director of the Butler University Hub for Black Affairs and Community Engagement, and Senior Advisor to the President, Butler University (Indianapolis)

Suzanne Light, retired CEO, Kosciusko County Community Foundation (Warsaw)

Domini Martin Urban, Founder/CEO, Blüm Relocation Technologies (Indianapolis)

Sarah Noonan, Associate Professor, Saint Mary’s College (South Bend)

Chad Priest, CEO, American Red Cross, Indiana Region (Indianapolis)

Jay Ruckelshaus, Climate Strategist, Gravity (Indianapolis)

Rabbi Sandy Eisenberg Sasso, Director of Religion, Spirituality and the Arts, IUPUI Arts and Humanities Institute (Carmel)

Rep. Jerry Torr, State Representative for House District 39 and National Account Manager, Near North Title Group (Carmel)

Yecenia Tostado, Executive Director, Project Azul (Indianapolis)