Like the Hoosier stonecutters who unearth the limestone that forms buildings around the globe, Indiana authors give the world’s readers something that can come only from this state.

Something with a distinctive texture and strength. Something present yet enduring. Something local yet of value everywhere. Something beautiful in its variety and endless in its possibility.

Today the state’s vibrant literary scene produces new authors and new works in every genre. From inspirational slam poetry to world-shaping sci-fi, from insightful young adult fiction to thought-provoking essays, Indiana writers offer unique Hoosier voices formed from the state’s deep quarries of diverse experiences.

The Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Awards, powered by Indiana Humanities, celebrate these authors and their recent works. They also shine a spotlight on the state’s literary community and deepen connections between Indiana’s writers and readers.

The Indiana Authors Awards honor the best books written by Hoosier authors in multiple categories every two years—books that build on the state’s bedrock of literary tradition and provide a vast mine of material for Indiana Humanities’ rich literary programming.

Program Details

About the Awards

The Indiana Authors Awards honor books in the following categories every two years:

  • Fiction
  • Nonfiction
  • Poetry
  • Children’s
  • Young Adult
  • Drama
  • Genre
  • Emerging

Two additional awards will recognize authors’ contributions to Indiana’s literary community and their legacy. Each award cycle, Indiana Humanities accepts nominations for the Literary Champion award for contributions to the community of readers and writers in Indiana and the Lifetime Achievement award for an extraordinary body of work by a Hoosier author.

Program Highlights


2020 Winners

Congratulations to the 2020 Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award-winning books and authors. We are proud to celebrate the best books written by Indiana authors over the past two years.

Meet the winners

2020 Shortlists

Congratulations to the 35 authors and books selected for the 2020 Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Awards shortlists. These books were selected as the best books written by Indiana authors over the past two years.

Meet the shortlisted authors

Limestone Award

Each winner of the Indiana Authors Awards received a handcrafted limestone award designed by Indiana Humanities creative technologist Tom Streit.

Check it out


Learn more about the Indiana Authors Awards.

Partners and Funders

The Indiana Authors Awards are proudly powered by Indiana Humanities and made possible through the generosity of Glick Philanthropies.


Contact Bronwen Carlisle, programs and special projects manager:
bcarlisle@indianahumanities.org | 317.616.9103

Explore our other programs