Indiana Authors Awards

The Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Awards will expand in 2020 to honor more Indiana authors in more categories, shine a spotlight on the state’s literary community and deepen connections between writers and readers.

Indiana Authors Awards

Like the Hoosier stonecutters who unearth the limestone that forms buildings around the globe, Indiana authors give the world’s readers something that can come only from this state.

Something with a distinctive texture and strength. Something present yet enduring. Something local yet of value everywhere. Something beautiful in its variety and endless in its possibility.

Today the state’s vibrant literary scene produces new authors and new works in every genre. From inspirational slam poetry to world-shaping sci-fi, from insightful young adult fiction to thought-provoking essays, Indiana writers offer unique Hoosier voices formed from the state’s deep quarries of diverse experiences. 

The Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Awards, newly expanded and powered by Indiana Humanities, celebrate these authors and their recent works. They also shine a spotlight on the state’s literary community and deepen connections between Indiana’s writers and readers.

The Indiana Authors Awards honor the best books written by Hoosier authors in multiple categories every two years—books that build on the state’s bedrock of literary tradition and provide a vast mine of material for Indiana Humanities’ rich literary programming.

Check back on Oct. 21 for more details and a new Indiana Authors Awards website.


Beginning in 2020, the Indiana Authors Awards will honor books in the following categories every two years:

  • Fiction
  • Nonfiction
  • Poetry
  • Children’s
  • Young Adult
  • Drama
  • Genre
  • Emerging

Two additional awards will recognize authors’ contributions to Indiana’s literary community and their legacy. Each award cycle, Indiana Humanities will accept nominations for the Literary Champion award for contributions to the community of readers and writers in Indiana and the Lifetime Achievement award for an extraordinary body of work by a Hoosier author.

Nominations for the Indiana Authors Awards open on Oct. 21, 2019.


You can start celebrating Indiana authors today! Sign up to attend the Oct. 21 event, Write Now: A Celebration of Indiana Literature, where we’ll reveal the new elements of the Indiana Authors Awards. Beginning Aug. 27, organizations can apply to host an author talk or a writing workshop in their communities. Click the links below to learn more about these events and programs!


To keep up with the Indiana Authors Awards, including deadlines, winners and other news, sign up for the IAA enews. 


Find more details about the expanded Indiana Authors Awards in our FAQ.


Contact Megan Telligman, program manager ( / 317.616.9409).