October 5, 2020
Nonprofits can apply to bring award-winning Indiana authors to their community for talks, writing workshops

Support for Indiana Humanities program provided by Glick Philanthropies

Nonprofits interested in bringing an award-winning Indiana author to their community to speak to or give a writing workshop for a public audience can apply for funds to cover speaking fees as part of programs associated with the Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Awards. Events can be in-person or virtual.

Indiana Humanities will select up to 30 host organizations for speaking engagements and up to 10 for writing workshops. The programs, open to public libraries, schools, churches, museums, community centers, prisons and other nonprofit organizations, are funded through the support of Glick Philanthropies.

The Indiana Authors Awards Speaker Program features winning and shortlisted authors from the 2020 round of the Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Awards. This year’s speaker participants are:

  • Lindsey Alexander, poetry shortlist honoree
  • Crystal Allen, children’s shortlist honoree
  • John David Anderson, children’s shortlist honoree
  • Gabrielle Balkan, children’s shortlist honoree
  • Axton Betz-Hamilton, nonfiction shortlist honoree
  • Robert Blaemire, nonfiction shortlist honoree
  • Maurice Broaddus, genre winner
  • Callista Buchen, poetry shortlist honoree
  • Debra Kang Dean, poetry shortlist honoree
  • Helen Frost, children’s shortlist honoree
  • Bryan Furuness, fiction shortlist honoree
  • Eugene Gloria, poetry winner
  • Katie Hesterman, emerging shortlist honoree
  • Michael Homoya, children’s shortlist honoree
  • Sofi Keren, emerging and genre shortlist honoree
  • Nancy Kriplen, nonfiction shortlist honoree
  • Brian Leung, fiction shortlist honoree
  • Robin Lee Lovelace, emerging shortlist honoree
  • Michael Martone, fiction shortlist honoree
  • Chantel Massey, emerging shortlist honoree
  • Kevin McKelvey, poetry shortlist honoree
  • Saundra Mitchell, young adult winner
  • Melissa Stephenson, emerging winner and nonfiction shortlist honoree
  • James Still, drama winner
  • Annie Sullivan, emerging shortlist honoree
  • Bill Sullivan, nonfiction shortlist honoree
  • Larry Sweazy, genre shortlist honoree
  • Shari Wagner, poetry shortlist honoree
  • Sharon Biggs Waller, young adult shortlist honoree
  • Chris White, fiction winner

This years’ Indiana Authors Awards Writing Workshop leaders and their genres are:

  • Callista Buchen, poetry
  • Jennifer Ann Coffeen, romance
  • Bryan Furuness, fiction
  • Dave Griffith, all genres
  • Samuel Love, creative nonfiction
  • Saundra Mitchell, fiction
  • Alicia Rasley, fiction
  • Larry Sweazy, fiction
  • Shari Wagner, poetry

Application guidelines, author bios and session overviews are available at www.IndianaAuthorsAwards.org/programs. Organizations select their top three author/topic choices and are matched by Indiana Humanities. The deadline to apply is Nov. 20, 2020.

In addition to paying the speakers’ fees, Indiana Humanities will provide participating organizations with resources such as a communications toolkit, press release template and graphics for social media promotion. Participating organizations are responsible for working with authors to schedule engagements and cover any travel expenses. Author events must be completed by Dec. 31, 2021.

“This is a great opportunity to introduce more readers to the quality of writing that’s being done by Hoosier authors and to inspire the next generation of writers,” said Keira Amstutz, president and CEO of Indiana Humanities. “We’re thankful to Glick Philanthropies for continuing to help connect more authors to more readers.”

Apply Today

Posted In: Press Releases, Indiana Authors Awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *