December 13, 2016
Indiana Humanities elects new board members, slate of officers

The Indiana Humanities board of directors has appointed two new members and elected its slate of officers for 2016-17.

The Indiana Humanities board of directors has appointed two new members: Doran Moreland, executive director of statewide diversity and community outreach at Ivy Tech Community College, and Adam D. Thies, assistant vice president of capital planning and facilities at Indiana University. The board also elected its slate of officers for 2016-17.

Indiana Humanities is a statewide nonprofit that encourages Hoosiers to think, read and talk by participating in humanities programs and activities. Indiana Humanities is currently promoting a number of programs that celebrate Indiana’s Bicentennial. Called Next Indiana, the initiative inspires Hoosiers to think, read and talk about the people, places and ideas that will shape the next 200 years.

The new officers include:


The Honorable Jerry Torr

State Representative House District 39; Vice President, Hamilton Title


Vice Chair:

Ms. Elizabeth Bechdol

Director of Agribusiness Strategies, Ice Miller LLP

President and CEO, AgriNovus Indiana



Ms. Susanne Wasson

U.S. Commercial Leader—Crop Protection, Dow AgroSciences LLC



Ms. Carol Ann Bowman

Corporate Secretary and General Counsel, Whiteco Industries, Inc.


The board of directors also includes:

Ms. Keira Amstutz

President and CEO, Indiana Humanities


Ms. Myra Borshoff

Owner/CEO MB Communications LLC


Ms. Rosemary Dorsa

Vice President, Indiana Philanthropy Alliance and Director, GIFT Technical Assistance Program


Dr. Edward O. Frantz

Director of the Institute of Civic Leadership and Mayoral Archives and Professor of History, University of Indianapolis


The Honorable Maria D. Granger

Superior Court Judge, Floyd County

New Albany

The Honorable Christina Hale

State Representative House District 87


Ms. Malina Jeffers

Founder, Mosaic City


Mr. James M. Macdonald III

Executive Director & Market Manager, J.P. Morgan Private Bank


Mr. Doran Moreland

Executive Director of Statewide Diversity and Community Outreach, Ivy Tech Community College

Dr. Beverley J. Pitts

President Emeritus, University of Indianapolis


Mr. Timothy P. Robinson

Grants Management Director, Lumina Foundation

Mr. Larry Rowland

President, Parkview Foundation

Fort Wayne

Rabbi Sandy Eisenberg Sasso

Director of The Religion, the Arts and Spirituality Initiative of Butler University in partnership with Christian Theological Seminary


Dr. Sarah Skwire

Fellow, Liberty Fund, Inc.


Mr. Adam D. Thies

Assistant Vice President of Capital Planning and Facilities, Indiana University

Dr. Joseph F. Trimmer

Emeritus Professor of English & Director Emeritus, Virginia Ball Center for Creative Inquiry, Ball State University


The Honorable Jonathan Weinzapfel

Chancellor, Ivy Tech Community College Southwest/Wabash Valley regions; former Mayor of Evansville




Posted In: Press Releases

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *