February 24, 2012
Ag Essay Student Winners

Six Hoosier students have been selected for  their winning essays in the 2nd Annual Ag Essay Contest titled “Our Food, Our Farmers.” Sponsored by Indiana’s Family of Farmers and Indiana Humanities, this year’s contest explored Indiana’s role as a global agricultural leader.

All winners will be recognized during a special ceremony during the From Tractor to Truck” event outside the Indiana Statehouse on March 8 in Celebration of National Ag Day and Nutrition Month. Join us for the ceremony, and to grab a bite to eat at local food trucks! Learn more about the event.

More than 280 students submitted essays from across Indiana. First place winners will receive an Apple iPad and second place winners receive a Kodak Playsport camcorder.

Essay contest winners are as follows:

Grades 4-6:
First Place: Emi Lou Campbell of Custer Baker Intermediate School; Franklin. Read the essay.
Second Place: Claudia Duncan of St. Joseph Catholic School; Evansville. Read the essay.

Grades 7-9:
First Place: Rebecca Stanton of Central Middle School; Columbus. Read the essay.
Second Place: Thomas Werstler of Whitko High School; Larwill. Read the essay.

Grades 10-12:
First Place: Ben Sheldon of Martinsville High School; Martinsville. Read the essay.
Second Place: Morgan Tomson of South Decatur Junior-Senior High School; Westport. Read the essay.

Posted In: Events

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *