February 13, 2012
2012 Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award

Kurt Vonnegut.  James Whitcomb Riley.  Booth Tarkington.  Indiana prides itself as being the home state of some of the most prominent authors in American history.  Maybe there’s something in our Indiana water that continues our legacy of producing writers of such a high caliber?  Whatever the reason, the Indianapolis Public Library Foundation is celebrating Indiana authors by inviting the public to nominate exceptional writers for the 2012 Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award.

The nomination process for this prestigious award is not only incredibly easy, but it’s also free! In addition, if you nominate an author by March 1, you will be entered for a chance to win two tickets to the Award Dinner and an overnight hotel stay in Indianapolis from the Library Foundation.

Any published author who was either born in Indiana or has lived in Indiana for at least five consecutive years is eligible for this award. The contest is divided in to three separate categories depending on the type of author: national, regional, or emerging.

“The panel of literary educators and professionals who select the winning authors is amazing, but their work can’t begin until readers from across the state send them nominations,” said Marianne Glick, vice chairwoman of The Glick Fund. “Even if you’ve nominated your favorite writers in the past, definitely visit indianaauthorsaward.org to make sure they’re in the running this year.”

Indiana is full of gifted and talented authors, and this award aims to give them the hometown recognition that they deserve. Click here for more information about the process, the award or past winners.

Posted In: Miscellaneous

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *