About the Board

Indiana Humanities is a nonpartisan, independent, nonprofit governed by a volunteer board of Indiana educators and business and community leaders. Six of the directors are nominated by the Board of Directors and appointed by the governor of Indiana, while the others are selected from nominations solicited annually from the public.

If you are interested in serving on Indiana Humanities’ Board of Directors, please review theβ€― Request for Board Nominations.

Board Meetings

The 2020 meetings of the Indiana Humanities Board of Directors are:

Feb. 7, 2020 | 10 a.m. – Noon | Meredith Nicholson House, Indianapolis
April 17, 2020 | 10 a.m. – Noon | Meredith Nicholson House, Indianapolis
July 17, 2020 | 10 a.m. – Noon | Meredith Nicholson House, Indianapolis
Oct. 8-9, 2020 (Board Retreat) | Times and location, TBD

  • Chair
    Mr. Doran Moreland
    Vice President - Diversity, Equity and Belonging, Ivy Tech Community College
  • Chair Elect
    Mr. Chris Gahl
    Senior Vice President of Marketing & Communications, Visit Indy
  • Secretary
    Ms. Rosemary Dorsa
    Vice President, Indiana Philanthropy Alliance and Director, GIFT Technical Assistance Program
  • Treasurer
    Mr. Mark Maassel
    President, Indiana Energy Association
  • President & CEO
    Ms. Keira Amstutz
    President and CEO, Indiana Humanities
  • Ms. Carol Ann Bowman
    Retired, Corporate Secretary and General Counsel, Whiteco Industries, Inc.
  • Dr. Terri Jett
    Associate Professor of Political Science, Butler University
  • Ms. Suzanne Light
    CEO, Kosciusko County Community Foundation
  • Mr. James M. Macdonald III
    Executive Director & Market Manager, J.P. Morgan Private Bank
  • Mr. Chad Priest
    Chief Executive Officer, American Red Cross Indiana Region
  • Mr. Timothy P. Robinson
    Assistant Vice President, Operations and Grants Administration, Lumina Foundation
  • Mr. Adam D. Thies
    Associate Vice President, Capital Planning and Facilities, Indiana University
  • Ms. Tiffany Tolbert
    Senior Field Officer, National Trust for Historic Preservation, Chicago Field Office
  • Representative Jerry Torr
    State Representative House District 39, National Account Manager, Near North Title Group
  • Dr. Joseph F. Trimmer
    Emeritus Professor of English & Director Emeritus, Virginia Ball Center for Creative Inquiry, Ball State University
  • Jonathan Weinzapfel
    Partner, Jones Wallace LLC