Through the One State / One Story: The Year We Left Home Community Read program, Hoosiers are invited to join in the statewide read of Jean Thompson’s novel as part of Indiana Humanities’ INseparable initiative.

<i>One State / One Story: The Year We Left Home</i> Community Read

A Community Read is a series of three or more programs that explore the themes and ideas of Jean Thompson’s The Year We Left Home, especially as they relate to Midwestern identity and urban/rural dynamics. Taking place at 28 locations throughout Indiana in 2020, at least one of the programs offered is a book discussion, because there’s nothing better than talking about great books with curious people. Other events might be speaker programs, community conversations, exhibits, hands-on activities and more. Whatever the program, we aim to inspire Hoosiers to think about the idea of home and talk about the past, present and future of our Hoosier communities.

Community Reads Host Sites

The following 28 organizations have been awarded Community Read grants to implement a series of three or more programs about the book. Details about the dates and times of these events will be announced later by the local hosts and appear on our calendar

  • Bartholomew County Public Library, Columbus
  • Batesville Memorial Public Library
  • Bloomington High School North
  • Crown Point Community Library
  • Eckhart Public Library, Auburn
  • Flora, Delphi and Camden Public Libraries, Carroll County
  • Floyd County Public Library, New Albany
  • Fulton County Public Library, Rochester
  • Indiana Writers Center, Indianapolis
  • Irvington Historical Society, Indianapolis
  • Jeffersonville Township Public Library, Jeffersonville
  • Kendallville Public Library
  • Kokomo-Howard County Public Library, Kokomo
  • Kosciusko Literacy Services, Inc., Warsaw
  • La Porte County Public Library, La Porte
  • Manchester University, North Manchester
  • Marion Public Library, Marion
  • Osgood Public Library
  • Porter County Public Library System, Valparaiso
  • Red Skelton Museum of American Comedy, Vincennes
  • Roann Paw Paw Township Public Library, Roann
  • Rush County Community Foundation, Rushville
  • Switzerland County Public Library, Vevay
  • Tipton County Library, Tipton
  • Tyson Library Association, Inc., Versailles
  • Wabash County Historical Museum, Wabash
  • Wakarusa Public Library
  • Wells County Public Library, Bluffton

The Year We Left Home follows the Erickson family through the many changes affecting American life at the end of the twentieth century. From city rooftops to country farms, college campuses to small-town main streets, the characters in Thompson’s novel search for fulfillment and happiness in an ever-changing, often alienating country. The story asks us to consider the enduring, uniting power of place—why we choose to leave and when we decide to come home.


Let everyone know that your organization is participating in the Community Read! Order your One State / One Story: The Year We Left Home t-shirt by March 6, 2020.


To learn more about the One State / One Story: The Year We Left Home Community Read program, read through the program guide. This resource provides tips and ideas for your program series, discussion questions, supplementary information and more.


Follow the links below to view the slides or watch the required training webinar.


Contact Megan Telligman, program manager, | 317.616.9409