Indiana authors will visit more than 25 cities and towns through our statewide speakers bureau of award-winning authors.


Nonprofits interested in bringing an Indiana author to their community to speak to a public audience can apply for funds to cover speaking fees as part of Indiana Humanities’ Novel Conversations Speakers Program.

With support from the Glick Fund, a fund of the Central Indiana Community Foundation, we’ll send current and past recipients of the Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award to speak at 25 sites across the state.

Libraries, schools, museums/historical societies, community centers, art groups, prisons and other nonprofits are eligible to take part. If you’re interested, apply online using the link to the right. Applications must be submitted by October 12, 2018.

If we select you to take part, Indiana Humanities will assign you a speaker (you can list preferences on your application; participating authors are listed below), and we’ll pay the speaking fee. You’ll be responsible for contacting and scheduling the assigned speaker, paying any travel expenses (including mileage and hotel if needed), providing the venue and handling local publicity.

We’ll notify recipients in late October, and all author visits must be completed by June 30, 2019.

For more information, contact Bronwen Carlisle at 317.616.9103 or



The speakers program features Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award program winners and finalists, including:

  • Sandy Eisenberg Sasso, 2018 Regional Author Winner
  • Azareen Van der Vliet Oloomi, 2018 Emerging Author Finalist
  • Lori Rader-Day, 2017 Regional Author Winner
  • Bryan Furuness, 2017 Emerging Author Finalist
  • John David Anderson, 2017 Genre Excellence Winner
  • Philip Gulley, 2016 Regional Author Winner
  • Sarah Gerkensmeyer, 2016 Emerging Author Winner
  • Bill Kenley, 2016 Emerging Author Finalist
  • Edward Kelsey Moore, 2016 Emerging Author Finalist
  • Adrian Matejka, 2015 Regional Author Winner
  • Laura Bates, 2015 Emerging Author Finalist
  • Michael Shelden, 2014 National Author Winner
  • Ray Boomhower, 2010 Regional Author Winner

To learn more about the participating authors, please view the author biographies at the link below.

About The Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award

The Eugene & Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Award, a program of the Indianapolis Public Library Foundation, recognizes the contributions of Indiana authors to the literary landscape in Indiana and across the nation. Funded by the Glick Fund, a fund of Central Indiana Community Foundation, its goal is to elevate the written arts in Indiana, inspiring Hoosiers’ love of reading and drawing greater attention to “home-grown” literary achievement.


Applications for the 2018–2019 Novel Conversations Speakers Program are due by 5 p.m. on October 12, 2018.


If you’ve been chosen to participate in the 2018-2019 Novel Conversations Speakers Program, congratulations! The following tools are designed to help you develop and implement a successful program:

  • A toolkit complete with communication tips, event checklists and more
  • A press-release template to help you publicize your event
  • Social media graphics/logos

We’re eager to support you in your efforts. If you need additional assistance, please contact Bronwen Carlisle at 317.616.9103 or email


Contact Bronwen Carlisle at 317.616.9103 or email